Bangladesh opt to bat first in one-off Test against Zimbabwe


Online Desk: Bangladesh captain Mominul Haque opted to bat first after winning the toss in the solitary Test match against Zimbabwe at the Harare Sports Club today.

The Tigers however received a blow ahead of the Test, as experienced opener Tamim Iqbal was unable to recover fully from his knee injury.

Shadman Islam as usual replaced him and will open the innings with Saif Hassan.

Ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan returns to the Test fold after missing the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka while Mushfiqur Rahim, who was nursing finger injury was declared fit to play.

Bangladesh however brought back senior player Mahmudullah Riyad, who played his last Test match against Pakistan last year, into the side.

But they left out pacer Abu Jayed Rahi, who has been the side’s most successful bowler in the last two years.

Taskin Ahmed and Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury formed the pace attack while Bangladesh got spin bowling option in Shakib, Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mahmudullah Riyad who were also considered as genuine batsmen.

Zimbabwe earlier lost captain Sean Williams and experienced player Craig Ervine who had to go in self-isolation following coming in contact with their Covid-19 infected relatives.

Brendan Taylor will lead the side, who was bolstered with several young players.

Zimbabwe handed debut to two players –Takudzwanashe Kaitano and Dion Mayers to fill the void of Williams and Ervine.

Bangladesh and Zimbabwe faced off each other 17 times with both sides winning seven matches each and the rest of the three matches ended in a draw. It was Bangladesh’s first tour in the Southern African nation since 2013.

Line Ups:
Bangladesh: Mominul Haque, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain.

Zimbabwe: Regis Chakabva, Roy Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Timycen Maruma, Blessing Muzarabani, Dion Mayers, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Milton Shumba, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here