Massacre Day in Chittagong


Monirul Islam Parvez:A significant day in the anti-Ershad movement on January 24th. As part of the anti-Ershad movement, on this day of 1988, the 15-party alliance organized a rally at the famous Laldighi ground in Chittagong. A rally led by Awami League president and 15-party alliance leader Sheikh Hasina led to a procession of Laldighi, in front of the old Bangladesh building, the police opened fire on rallies. During this time, Sheikh Hasina was killed in the court building, but the bodies of Hindus, Muslims and Christians, who were shot dead by police, were arbitrarily cremated at Baluwarighi crematorium. Those killed in the incident are Sumon Chowdhury, Anwar Hossain, Swapan Vyas, Govt, Angel Barth Gomes, Chan Mia, Govinda Das, Mohammad Badrul, Ramesh Vaidya, Sajjad Hossain, Jike Chowdhury, Abdul Mannan, Kashem, Jike Das, Mohammad Quddus , Pankaj Baidya, Bahar Uddin, Kamal Hossain, Sabuj Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Hasan Murad, Palash, Time Dutta and Mohiuddin Shamim.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here